Tags

, , , , , ,

A discussion began this morning on Twitter. My friend Cheryl Torrance was raving about a bakery in Chinatown called Andrea’s Gerrard Street Bakery. Several other of my “foodie” friends chimed in to say it was a must visit. Being that it was a beautiful sunny morning, I grabbed my camera and walked down to Gerrard Street. Google maps told me that it was 4km which is a perfect distance for my walkabout. My pace is 1km in 10 minutes, so it only took me 40 minutes to get there.

Walking down Carlaw Avenue, just south of the Danforth, I came upon this school which is badly in need of a new sign:

I had no idea what the school name was until I saw this:

I entered Withrow Park and was reminded by this sign that they have a Farmers’ Market in the park every Saturday. Perhaps Nancy and I can get to Withrow this Saturday before they wrap up their season:

The park looked amazing today:

Withrow has a great off-leash area for our canine friends:

As I ventured further down Carlaw Avenue, I saw this amazing house at the corner of Carlaw and Victor Avenue. If the date plaque at the top of the house is to be believed, this building was built in 1891, click on the photo to see a larger version:

I assume this shopkeeper is trying to be festive for Halloween. Unusual window decoration for an upholstery shop:

In my travels around the neighbourhood, I have seen “multi-purpose” retail stores. At Coxwell and Danforth there is a combination barber shop and antique store. On Gerrard Street East I found this bicycle/coffee shop:

And another dual purpose retailer, exotic fish and bonsai. Somehow I just don’t get the connection:

Now in the heart of Chinatown, there are numerous green grocers. And their prices were amazing; I saw whole fresh pineapples for $2 a piece:

And plunked right in the middle of Chinatown is Andrea Mut’s Andrea’s Gerrard St. Bakery:

I introduced myself to Andrea since we had only just “met” on Twitter 40 minutes earlier. Andrea must be great at multi-tasking since she keeps up with the Twitter activity while serving her customers. Her shop is full of wonderful treats. She made me a perfect cappuccino and I couldn’t resist buying a couple of butter tarts as well. The tarts will be our dessert tonight. Andrea and I had a nice chat about my foodie friends, Cheryl, Joanna, and Lisa. We talked about the upcoming Soupstock this Sunday, I raved about The Meat Department, Uzel Olives on the Danforth and North Pole Bakery. 

Her cakes looked outrageously delicious. Here is her Carrot Cake and she also had Chocolate Fudge Cake:

Andrea’s sandwiches are called “Streetcars” and they looked delicious as well. It gives me an excuse to go back at lunchtime to enjoy a Streetcar:

Andrea and her shop are both delightful. There are so many more treats that I will have to try in the days to come. I will be adding Andrea’s Bakery to my “Gourmet Finds In The Neighbourhood” blogposting which you can find at the top of my blog.

For my trip home, I walked up Broadview and along the Danforth. I had to stop in at The Meat Department and say hello to Cheryl and thank her for telling me about Andrea’s Bakery.

One last stop on the Danforth was at Maselli’s Supermarket. I had to pick up some olive oil and couldn’t resist getting some of their Parma prosciutto which I had for lunch with a pear and some phenomenal blue cheese from Monforte Dairy. What a great morning.

